Page 1 of 2
First post, so don't shoot me if I missed something in the rules.

Ok, so I have a Crate GX-15, and I play a Epiphone Junior through it (which I should be upgrading within a year.) It's not the best rig, so I'd like to upgrade it. I'm pretty happy with my guitar, but I'd like to get an amp that sounds better. My budget is $200-300, so I'm kinda limited. I play mostly bluesy stuff, classic rock, and a bit of metal. The amp needs to sound good, last several years without any degradation in quality, and be able to get pretty loud.

So, here's my request: what amps would you recommend? Should I get a modeling amp, or get a amp I like and upgrade with pedals? Tube or SS?

Thanks,

Virx67

Edit: I've been playing for about 8 months, for those who wanted to know. Also, how often do you have to replace tubes/what's the process? And what's the difference between 15w, 30w, 75w, and 120w?
The guitar makes music. The man makes the guitar.

Gear:
Epiphone Junior
Crate GX-15
Deltalab chorus pedal

Money sucks.
Last edited by virx67 at Oct 24, 2009,
are you going to be jamming with friends or just practicing on your own?
if satan lived in heaven, he'd be me
Are you gigging? Or just home practice?

-Gibson LP VM
-Silvertone Kentucky Blue
-MXR CC Delay
-Ibanez TS-9
-Egnater Rebel 20

My rig is simple
Haha. UG's Chuck just said chuck. haha
You're not truly playing guitar unless you know theory.
I'll be mainly practicing at home, but I do play with friends occasionally. Haven't gigged before, so I'm not really worried about that right now.

Gear:
Epiphone Junior
Crate GX-15
Deltalab chorus pedal

Money sucks.
A Good Amp For You Within Your Price Range Would Be A Line 6 Spider. These Are Good For The Styles Of Music You Play.
Well for that money, you really have 2 choices-
1. Low wattage tube amp
-Better sound quality
-Better reliability
-Slightly higher maintenance

2. Modeling amp
-More effects
-Cheaper parts
-Inferior sound quality