I'm sure this is somewhere else, but it just came to me as I was laying down last night.

Shouldn't right handed people play left handed guitars, and vice versa? I mean, your most skilled hand is being used as your strumming hand on a guitar usually. Isn't that kinda backwards? I'm left handed, and I have been playing left handed for 2 1/2 years, but I might try to switch soon.

What do you guys think?
That's what I initially thought. But my friend is left handed but plays a right handed guitar but his picking needs a lot of work. I've told him thousands of times to pick from his wrist, but he still picks from his elbow. I guess it's just a comfort level thing.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
Your Lead hand (Right to Right handed people) Usually controls what you do, Write, Use a fork, drink with, ect, and the other hand follows. Your right hand in this case Leads, Because you have more controll over what is happening.

Therefore, by using your Right hand to pick on a right handed guitar, your Right hand controls ALL that you do, Unless you Skipped picking entirely, and went onto Legato.

This goes Vise Versa with Left handed people too.
Quote by Junior#1
That's what I initially thought. But my friend is left handed but plays a right handed guitar but his picking needs a lot of work. I've told him thousands of times to pick from his wrist, but he still picks from his elbow. I guess it's just a comfort level thing.

Your friend sounds like me
Quote by Demonikk
'Practice amp' = amp you practice with? In my case, Peavey 6505+ and 4x12
I don't do things small

Except children.