ok i was kinda unsure of which forum to post this in, so please correct me if i posted wrong.

anyway i'm fairly new at guitar and i'm starting to get the hang of the bar chords... well.. i'm not a master in switching to them, but at least i get a clear sound :P

anyway i was wondering how do you know where to take the different chords as bar chords?

as i understanded it there are basically 4 kinds of bar chords.
one that look like E, one that look like Em, one that look like A, and one looking like Am,
right?

so basically if you take the E formed bar chord on any fret you will have a chord corresponding to the node of the E string on the fret you are holding your finger across, right?
and if you do the one that looks like the A you will have a chord corresponding to the node on the A string?

i'm pretty unsure of this so please help me out :P

also if there's anything else important you think i should know about bar chords please tell me

thanks in advance

-Craksy
e shape corresponds with the E string
a shape corresponds with the a string (E is muted)
c shape corresponds with the a string
d shape corresponds with the d string (this is less used due to a fret gap)

i think these should be correct
cant remember of any other shapes right now that can be easily done with bar chords
There's way more than just 4 ways to play a barre chord. Basically anything where you have to barre a finger could be considered a barre chord. As for what fret is what chord and whatnot, you are basically right on. But it's not always about what note is at the top of the chord. If you have something like

e|-7-
B|-9-
G|-9-
D|-9-
A|-7-
E|-7-

it looks like the A major form at the 7th fret (E) but there's an extra note in the base, a B, which would make it a split chord (E/B). You'll come to more of those eventually. Other than that, you pretty much got it.
Quote by Geldin