Long story short, I've been playing acoustic for about 7 months. Played bass in high school close to 20 years ago. I'm now itching for an electric 6 string.

My frustration is with picking out a guitar. I like both the single coil sound and a fatter humbucker sound, but I don't know which to prioritize. I'd like to play stuff like Rush and Zeppelin, but I also like SRV, Hendrix and Pink Floyd.

I was thinking about a HSS MIM Strat, but every one I tried (unplugged) at GC didn't feel right. They were all severely out of tune and buzzed. I'm sure they'd be a lot better if they were set up, but they weren't.

Are there other options I should look at? Are there any split coil humbucker guitars in the sub $500 range that sound "stratty" enough to pull off the styles I mentioned?
The HSS Strat sounds perfect for you. Just ask the store to set it up properly
DO IT LIVE
Quote by Corby1888
The HSS Strat sounds perfect for you. Just ask the store to set it up properly

+1 tell them you might buy and set one up for you. GC setups aren't the best but thier tech should get the job done

when i went in to buy my alexi 200 i had them tune it to drop C before i even bought it, so i could see how i liked it before buying.
Guitars:
LTD Alexi-600 White & Black
LTD Alexi-200 Black(Death Adder pickup & Gold OFR)
Agile Interceptor Pro 727 7-string
Jackson JS30RR rhoads
Jackson DKMGT
Squire telecaster

amps:
Bugera 6262 212 loaded with WGS veteran 30's
You're going to find that almost all guitars in GC are horribly set up, rusty, sticky and out of tune. For the first time electric guitar buyer, it's a pretty disheartening experience. I suggest you just try a few out...feel how the neck feels in your hands, how it sits in your lap, etc. Plug in a few, test out the different pickup configurations...see if it has the general tone you're looking for.