I've been playing guitar for a few years, and have recently been inspired to take up bass. I am mainly looking to play Red Hot Chili Peppers and Dream Theater (I realize that these are not the easiest bands to play but I'm still gonna try). My problem is that John Myung of Dream Theater uses not only 4, but 5 and 6 string basses.

Would it be stupid of me to start playing bass with a 5 or 6 string?

Also, if anyone knows a good starter bass (maybe $200 or less) that could play both of these styles, please let me know. I really need some direction right now.
im not a bassist, but i dont think it would make a difference
❒ Taken ❒ Single ✔ Would like a sandwich

Vereor Deus

Quote by dann_blood
Branding!?!? THAT'S TOO PROGRESSIVE! I say bring back settlement payments in weights of lead and impalement upon wooden stakes!

Quote by Doctor Matthews
Oh! Sorry, I thought that was a braille name tag.
You shouldn't really have much of a problem, however you may have slight trouble playing slap like the chillis with that many strings. (although probably not)
If music was the food of love I'd be a fat romantic slob.
If your gonna cover any Dream Theater songs, you'd def want the same amount of strings as Myung. Or if you think you'll play a lot of bass solos, go for five or six strings
Although seeing as its your first I would stay around four and wouldnt go higher than 5
Hope that helps!
Quote by Mr_Jubby_Jubs
You shouldn't really have much of a problem, however you may have slight trouble playing slap like the chillis with that many strings. (although probably not)

that's sort of what i was worried about. does anyone have experience playing slap on a 5 or 6 string?
learning to slap on a 5 or 6 string can be quite difficult, because the space between the strings is considerably smaller. if you think you can tough it out though, i'd say go for a 5 or 6 string if you really want.
My Rig:
Yamaha RBX 375 bass