I started playing guitar about a week ago (played piano until I was 17, so pretty easy to pick up) but I'm having some difficulties with alternate picking on 3 notes per string exercises/scales. I always seem to end up picking economically when switching strings, the way it comes naturally...
But I really want to stick to alternate picking. Not anchoring my pinky helped, and now I noticed that if I sway my hand after every pick, it forces me to alternate my picking strokes. So after every downstroke, I sway my hand upwards with the pick pointing downwards (and vice-versa after upstrokes), basically preventing me from stroking in the same direction again.
I haven't seen this in any lessons and was just wondering if this is a good technique or if it will form a bad habit in the long run. I only do this on 3 note scales and stuff, it's easier than thinking about what stroke I just did.

Maybe someone has some good tips on how to work on alternate picking?
I can't see why you wouldn't want to flow from one string to the next. Doing so will save effort, and reducing any effort you can will improve form.

I seriously doubt anyone would consider economy picking to be a BAD habit, but a few might consider strict alternate picking to be one. If you still want to alternate pick as much as you can, maybe start with an upstroke or something.

Edit: As far as alternate picking exercises, try practicing major/minor and the chromatic scale up and down the neck. I think cyberfret.com has a program that will show you tons of different scales in any position.
Last edited by lycosid at Oct 25, 2009,
Alternate picking came to me naturally actually, if I think about what I'm doing I'll start trying to economy pick it and **** up.
Quote by Nilpferdkoenig
Alternate picking came to me naturally actually, if I think about what I'm doing I'll start trying to economy pick it and **** up.