I'm unsure whether or not, in my current situation, I should invest in some studio monitors. I'm a college student, attending my local university but living in the dorms a block away from my house. I know that monitors are crucial to mixing, but I am just a hobbyist and dabbling in recording to record demos of songs I have and to make myself a more proficient musician. I don't have a separate monitoring area- I track and do everything in the same room at my parent's house. It sucks not having a separate, isolated room but doing everything with headphones has worked the past year.

My girlfriend and my drummer (both have experience in the acoustics field) told me that I won't need speaker monitors since there is no isolation and I would be using headphones to monitor. But I want the speakers because I'm a very materialistic person and they would sound nice and look nice lol. The main reason would be so I can listen to my music from my laptop on something that sounds nice. Do I need to get monitors in this situation? sorry for the long paragraphs

tl;dr version: Do I need monitors even though I don't have any isolation between mixing and tracking areas?
Personally, I don't see how having your tracking and mixing areas in the same area would have any impact on whether you need monitors.

The short answer to your question is; yes, you need monitors. In my opinion, and the opinion of most anyone with some experience, everyone who is doing any kind of mixing needs monitors.

Mixing in headphones is ok as a second reference, but for a primary reference, monitors are important. Having a sound-treated room helps too, but with near-field monitors, they're designed to be used in pretty close proximity to the listener, thus taking a lot of the room acoustics out of the equation.

So long story short, yes, invest in some monitors. Get the best you can afford to buy, it absolutely won't be wasted money. Once you mix on them, you'll see.