I have been playing guitars for two years now, and i know my barre chords, my power chords, the minor pentatonic scale, and the major scale, and i can play easy solos, but when i try and sound like i know what im doing, i suck. I would be interested to know if anybody has any tips on developing speed on the fretboard. I know how to alternate pick and things like that, but is there any specific technique i should practice to get faster? i know i have to practice slowly, and i am practicing a good lick, but i haven't moved in speed in like two months. the lick is this...

E-12-h--15-p--12-
B---------------------15--

i just want to know if i will eventually develop speed, or if there is a certain trick involved, or even if there is a different technique i should use.
that's a really simple lick man. i'd hammer on the 15 with my ring finger and then take the ring finger to the 15 on the B string in one fluid motion. make sure you hammer on with your fingertip and not with a flat finger. I cant really think of much to help you for something that simple
also, I would pick upward for the hammer on and then a downpick for the 15 on the B. that might help you
I tend to play scales up, down, left, right, and all over; I improv constantly using whatever scale/pattern my fingers feel like playing, sometimes playing fast, sometimes slow, sometimes with pauses, randomly throwing in HOs/POs, bending, and giving held notes vibrato where I like it.

It may not be the most structured way to improve your playing speed/accuracy, nor has it really helped me "learn the fretboard" (on its own), but in conjunction with everything I've been learning and other warm-ups (as well as playing tabs/etc), I'm slowly but surely developing an intimate understanding of my fretboard and the notes on it.