How exactly do you practice with a metronome?

I've been playing for nearly 3 years and I turn on my metronome and let it click away but have no idea how to practice within the metronomes clicks or whatever.

Example I'm trying to learn a bit of Dream Theaters Lines in the Sand solo which is slightly faster than I'm used to playing and since I'm not that clever at computers all I can do is describe the period in which it plays on the song, which is between 6.09 and 6.15 just before the rake bringing in the wah.
Its not overly hard, I just have no idea how to practice it with a metronome to make me better and faster with it and similar passages I wanna learn in the future.

Anyway my quandary is a large one and would like a bit of hand.

Cheers guys!
Prog flavored juice ... You tried it yet?

Shameless plot to promote zee band.
Shed 31
Try to time your accents with the clicks.
MINI enthusiast

@stevenpollock

My band: avenueofembers.com
Quote by neverspoiled
thank you stevenpollock..
the only Pit-head thats not a douche bag...right now anyway
=)
a metronome works like a drumset... if you practice playing to a metronome, you get better by playing 'in time' .. rather then off beat and sloppy.
You figure out the song's tempo [or check out its Guitar Pro tab] and set the metronome to play at that tempo. And practise away?
Not sure bout the effect of the odd time signature changes.

In my world, the color RED doesn't exist.

The system has encountered a fatal error [1809]: 'YourOpinion' var has no set value.
yeah you just count to the metronome. each click is a quarter note. if it's in seven four time i count; one, two, three, four, one, two, three, one, two, three, four, one, two, three