Hey guys. My manager at work hooked me up with a gig at a place called Plumas Friday night. My band is going to play that night and she asked us to play the next night too but my bro has a gig with his other band so she wants me to DJ instead. Only thing wrong is that I don't know how to do it or work the equipment. Since I am a musician and know a lot about PA systems Im assuming I could figure it out pretty quickly. She makes it sound like the normal DJ's just come in with their iPods or laptops and play those.

As far as I could see when I checked it out the first time they had: a light controller on the left (one that you just flip switches), they had a double turn table thing in the middle and then on the right they had a dj mixer.

Can anybody help me out with some tips or anything? I'm watching some videos on youtube to help me and I'm also going to go back to the place this week and me and her are gonna figure out how to use it hopefully. Also I'm not sure on what kind of music to play? Obviously rap/hip-hop mostly but I dunno what popular these days cuz I hate that music and NEVER listen to the radio. Anything at all will help. Thanks!

It'll take YEARS to master how to work decks. Sorry, but there's just no way.

"Hi, I'm a DJ, but the venue at my next gig couldn't supply me with turntables, so they asked me to just play guitar instead. Problem is, I don't know how to play guitar."

It's somewhat like that. It all depends on what kind of DJ they're talking about, though, if it's just a "playlist DJ" kind of thing then you can probably make do with just an iPod or laptop if you know how to work the PA. Nothing worse than the next song being louder than the current one and blowing out everyone's ears.
My advice would be to read the audience. Ive done it for cash for 5 years.