First of all: hello bass forum. I've been lurking for a while, but decided to finally sign up to ask a question and perhaps contribute sometime.

I made this thread to ask about muting in general whilst playing fingerstyle. I see so many bassists making videos on youtube and the like of them playing whilst always anchoring either on just a lower string or a pickup - I was just wondering:

a) how bassists that do this mute strings as they go up a scale at higher speeds, for example (i.e. the string that they leave as they go up a string, e.g. from the D to the G string.

b) how they stop the sympathetic vibrations from the thicker strings if they're playing higher up (especially with 5 or 6 strings)

I've been playing for just under 2 years now, and recently moved from a 4 string to a 6 string. On a 4 string I always used a moving anchor, kind of like Mr. Nitti here does in Skitzo ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SoLqaQmlx1Y ). Now I use a floating thumb method instead to mute the strings. It just keeps bugging me as to how other people don't seem to need to do this?

I can think of various ways in which to tackle this problem - e.g. with left hand technique such as having some of your finger sticking out over the string and touching the next (thicker) one down to mute it - but this seems kinda sloppy to me.

I guess you can also follow through with your finger and hit the next string down to mute it, but again this seems a tad sloppy and makes a thumping sound.

Am I missing something here? Please, enlighten me as to decent muting methods other than my own, bass forum!

(Example of someone just anchoring on a pickup or lower string: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rtOZW4Sc8Ks )
Left-hand muting is indeed a big part of it. Everybody has their own way of doing things, though. Personally, I have fairly long fingers, so I can comfortably use both thumbs to mute, in addition to my left-hand fingers.
Nope, no sig here.
If I understood this correctly;