I've been trying to break free of "patterns" by focusing on horizontal movement (over the major and major pentatonic G scales); but -- and maybe it's just me -- my root seems to change. I tend to toss up a little "melodic improv" over scales (I don't know how else to describe it? It's not a defined melodic movement) to try and break up the monotony of the scales I play, and a few times I ended up feeling far more resolved on a different note.

The last time it happened, I caught myself resolving on an E -- which tells me I jumped into G's little minor friend. I've read that Major scales shouldn't overuse their sixth to avoid reverting to the key's relative minor, but that was applied to chords... I'm not exactly sure how I even manage to do it playing scales.

I'm not very experienced, but shit, I might as well start knocking out these little nuances sooner rather than later so I can develop a solid technique. Any advice on keeping my root note as... well, my root?
Last edited by freakstylez at Oct 27, 2009,
That's what modes are, the key isn't really changing. They aren't really detrimental to your playing at all. Landing on the seventh will give you a very uneasy and unfinished feeling for example. Learn the sound characteristics of all 7 modes and use them to your advantage.
Gear:
Ibanez RG570 circa 1993
Ibanez S2020XAV
Carvin DC127
EVH 5153 50w
Orange PPC112
AxeFX II
Oh, I know 100% that it's another mode (sorry, I've been wording things like shit all night) and not another key. D'oh. I'd just like the peace of mind that after a long stretch of soloing madness, my root note will bring it all home should I want it to.

From the sounds of it, it will just come with time and playing. Guess I'll just wait and see if it ever becomes a problem -- and if I learn to improv correctly, it shouldn't. If my root won't resolve quite right, hopefully I can follow my ear to a note that will.

Anyway, thanks.