Ok, so I know that this is supposed to go in the Refinishing thread, but I asked a few questions over there that have still yet to be answered. Mods, if you see fit, please let me know and delete this and I'll ask it in that thread. I just have a specific question about polishing compounds and I want people to see it.

Ok, the situation is that I have refinished a guitar. I stained it with Behr stain and clear coated it with around 20 coats of Minwax Oil based polyurethane. I know that these aren't the best refuted products, but I had to deal with what I could get my hands on (I'm a broke college student..). The last coat of polyurethane was applied about 3 weeks ago and I'm starting to research products for polishing. This will be kind of a long post so please bear with me.

Basically my plan is to start wetsanding with 400 grit sandpaper on a block. I know that is a rough grit, but that's why I put as many coats as I did on the guitar. When I get everything smooth, I'm going to move up to 600, 800, 1000, and then either 1200 or 1500 depending on what I can get my hands on locally. These will all be block sanded wet. After I get to the 1500 grit stage, I want to start with some polishing compounds. The polishing tutorial in the refinishing thread uses Stew Mac polishing compounds, which are expensive and come in much larger quantities than I need for this one guitar body. I'm thinking of using 3 compounds, and I'll link to them in order.

1. applied by hand with a 100% cotton cloth. The description says that it removes scratches up to 1200 grit so I thought it would be a good starting point.

2. also applied by hand. This stuff is supposed to remove scratches up to 1500 grit, which I think would work well as a second step. Also, I own a bottle of this stuff already, and anything I can do to save money would be a good thing. I'd like to try and use this stuff if it is at all possible, I've already got waaaaay too much money tied up in this project.