So I would like to get into the art of building guitars. Ive seen guitar bulding kits that I assume come with all the needed parts, but then there are sites like warmoth.com that sell individual parts needed for building an ax. So really im a total noob at this, well not even cause I havnet even tried yet. So really what im looking for from the UG community is which route is the best to take? I want to do this for the experience factor, not so much for building my dream guiat (not yet anyway) but I dont want to throw out this time, money, and work to end up with some shitty ax. Are there any quality guitar kits, or should I go through and pick out my own parts. My issue is how will I know if I like the neck? ill have to judge from the specs alone. Im leaning towards buying indivdual parts but when it comes to woods or hardware or anything im at a total loss as to tonal properties and different wood qualities

Also another big concern of mine is what kind of tools and materials will I need to actually build the guitar. Other then an obvious screwdriver and clamps? Also are there any kind of set directions I could follow that would walk me through the whole process step by step?

Your like the wind UG, I go wherever you carry me
Last edited by CarnivalBeam at Oct 28, 2009,
refinish a guitar you have. file and polish the frets if they're worn. refret if really needed. just customize it, that's about half of building a guitar. any wood working experience? cause that's the other half. Electric guitars are basically woodworking and some hand tool experience. and a little soldering. check out project guitar. do whatever strikes your fancy
1) if your on about getting all the parts like body, neck, tuners etc your not reli building your guitar, and you might as well get one of your own guitars, take it to bits, and put it back together, and that way you save money