I stopped by a local music shop that sells used instruments today and was checking out what they had. I've been playing guitar for almost four years now, and I had a bass a couple years back, but I didn't keep it for long and didn't play it much.

Anyway, I'm into recording my own music, and I want to start tracking bass lines into my songs. So, I had a few questions on where to start when buying one. First off, I want to know what would be better: fretted or fretless? I saw a Peavey bass...not sure which model...today in the store that was fretless, and as I was plunking around on it a little bit, it felt pretty smooth. The bass I mentioned above that I had was fretted, and I remember having problems with buzzing frets when I would hit notes. The action was fine, but this problem bothered me. Also if it helps, I'm into mostly metal music, but if I buy a bass I would probably want to learn a style sort of in the vein that Stu Hamm plays, in addition to playing metal and rock.

Secondly, I'm not looking to spend a lot of money because I don't have a lot to spend at the moment, and also I will (basically) be just starting. But I don't want something that's a piece of junk like the one I had before either. I searched around the forums a little bit for any information, but couldn't really find anything pertaining to what I wanted to know, so I'm asking all you bass players out there for a little help and advice on this subject. Anything at all is appreciated.
"For me, it is far better to grasp the Universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring." ~Carl Sagan
Last edited by stonebrain at Oct 29, 2009,
I'd say around $250-$300 is all I'm looking to spend right now.
"For me, it is far better to grasp the Universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring." ~Carl Sagan