are private lessons worth it?

i want to learn theory, improv, jazz, and of course develop a better ear for music. i tried learning it on my own, but idk, it seems impossible without someone to actually guide me.

ive been playing for about a year and a half w/o lessons, and know little theory
My Rig:
Yamaha RBX 375 bass
Peavey Millenium BXP bass (won at Summer Slaughter 2010, signed by all the bands)
Eden Nemesis NC410 320w combo amp
Check out Tyrannicide, my death/thrash metal band:
http://www.myspace.com/tyrannicidemetal
If you find a good teacher then definitely. If you don't I think lessosn can really hold you back. Also make sure the teacher you find knows about the stuff you want to learn.
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.
Find a good teacher and you will not believe how beneficial those sessions are. I waited six years to find that out - don't delay.
There's nothing better then a teacher when it comes to learning. Not only do regular lessons give you good, quality practice time, but you have someone experienced to not only tell you what to do, but actually demonstrate for you in person, which helps immensely. I say go for the lessons
Composite Aficionado

Spector and Markbass
hasn't hurt me.

gigging with a church style band, improvised basslines based off of chord cheat sheets makes you have to learn what you need, if you improvise something out of key, you have to know and learn.
Quote by FatalGear41
I wouldn't call what we have here on the Bass Forum a mentality. It's more like the sharing part of an AA meeting.

Quote by Jason Jillard
HUMANITY WHATS WRONG WITH YOU.

Warwick Fortress>>Acoustic AB50

http://www.myspace.com/rustingbloom