Hey guys, I've been playing for 3 months and I'm really getting into it. I'm wondering when would be a good time to upgrade from my Squier Strat. My dad tells me I shouldn't buy a really good guitar yet cause I was telling him how I wanted to get a Gibson Les Paul. I don't know if I should get it now or wait to get better first. I'm also pretty self-conscious and I don't know if I'm worthy of owning a really good guitar. He told me I should maybe look into an Epiphone cause he says it's a step up from Squier, but isn't that pretty much equivalent?
Well what model is your squier? Some Epiphones are really nice but then again, some squiers are too.
If I remember correctly, it's the Squier Stratocaster Affinity that came in a box with a fender frontman amp.
well 3 months... i'd wait atleast a few more months... just because your still learning and who knows what could happen.. all of a sudden you could not like playing... i'd say wait around 3-4 more months. Well what genre's you playing??? .. but if you get a higher end epiphone would be good... the cheaper ones really aren't
Quote by nickl11
Hey guys, I've been playing for 3 months and I'm really getting into it. I'm wondering when would be a good time to upgrade from my Squier Strat. My dad tells me I shouldn't buy a really good guitar yet cause I was telling him how I wanted to get a Gibson Les Paul. I don't know if I should get it now or wait to get better first. I'm also pretty self-conscious and I don't know if I'm worthy of owning a really good guitar. He told me I should maybe look into an Epiphone cause he says it's a step up from Squier, but isn't that pretty much equivalent?