If anybody knows German fairly well, can you explain how you know if a word is feminine, masculine, neuter, or plural? Like how do you tell the difference? Also, then how do you know if it's nominative, accusative, dative, or genitive? Thanks.
Quote by NGD1313
Well I don't know about solos but how about that Smoke on the Water riff. It's like...impossible.

THE TRUTH IS OUT THERE

I'm Jake. I'm a musician, philosopher, and exhibitionist.
im currently taking deutsch also. i have an A, but i really have no idea whats going on in that class

EDIT: i guess what im trying to say is its impossible

the only things ive learned is futtert die hund, das geshirr spullen, they like the brewskys, and they have nude parks for the old guys
-JBSwreckfest
Last edited by jbswreckfest at Nov 2, 2009,
im in german 1, die is feminine and plural, das is masculine, and der is neuter, dont know a thing about cases yet
Ich bin in Deutsch III!!

but yea, you can't really tell unless you can see the article

das=neuter
der=masculine
die=feminine or plural

unless it's in some wierd case like Genetiv which I don't understand anyway.
Quote by asator
YOU'RE A CUNT AND STUFF LESPAUL1216.

It's okay because whatever, forever
you can't always know what gender a word is, but there are some things that can give a hint about it. google will be your best friend for this, but a quick search and racking of my own brain says: -in, -ik, -el, -e are generally feminine, -er is usually masculine. most animals are masculine as well, but there are exceptions to this as well ie 'die katze'.

cases are even more confusing than genders, but learning them is one of the most important things to german grammar. there is a chart that you can find anywhere online telling you what article goes with which gender and which case, and then you just need to use that and the grammar of the sentence to find out which case you are in.