When alternate picking, does the beat determine whether or not I use an up or downstroke, or should it always be up followed by down? i.e. is it downstroke on downbeat always, or just up down up down, etc.?
Surprised nobody has answered you already but the general stance on it is always alt pick. I didn't when I started learning and it has caused a few problems in places, took a few months to sort out the bad habit of down strumming every note.
On certain songs though, let's say Master Of Puppets for being incredibly generics sake (), I find down strumming the
|----------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|----------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|-----2------3-----4------3------2-2-----2-----3-------5\4---5\4---5\4---------|
|-0-1---0-1---0-1---0-1---0-1-----0-1---0-1---0-0-3\2-0-3\2-0-3\2---|

section to not only be alot easier but also produces a more 'accurate' output. Of course, this is coming from someone who adapted the down-strum habit so others views may differ greatly.
Last edited by Nemm at Nov 3, 2009,
i think if you are good enough at downstroking to do the above riff accurately and make it sound good, then thats cool. i play the above riff and the verse to creeping death in a D-D-U-D-D-U type pattern and i can get it sounded pretty consistent like that.

legion, to answer your question as to whether you always downstroke on the downbeat, every so often, ill find a riff thats easier to play starting with an upstroke. again with the metallica, lets look at Through The Never

..............................x3
|-------4---------3----|------5
|-0-2----2-0-2----2-|0-2-3