Hey guys!

I'm new here, I've been playing guitar for about 2-3 years now, and I love John Mayer's (among many others) music and style. But I've noticed he plays almost like he's finger-picking, but hes not. Also, through this technique he can play with speed at the same time....he almost makes a "blook" noise in between the actually played notes/chords. A great example of this is when he does the live version of Vultures on Where the Light Is.

I would love to learn and understand this technique, does anybody know any sites I can learn or have any personal experience with this style? I think it sounds absolutely sick.
Mayer uses a lot of hybrid picking, I know that much. As for the "blook" noise, maybe he's just striking the strings with the flesh of his hand?

Hey guys! I just started playing electric guitar should I get a Gabson Lay Pall or a Femdor Startokaster. I like the picks on the gabsons but i like how sweet femdors look. Beforre i get a gabson what company makes them?
john mayer basically just finger picks with his index, middle, and ring fingers while he uses his thumb to tap on the low E to keep time. once you get comfortable enough with finger picking just add the thumb as a kind of metronome...its a lot easier than it sounds.
Oh, that sounds ridiculously easy - I'mma try that.

Thanks, man!

Does anyone know how to get his guitar tone?
He's slapping the lower strings on beats 2 and 4 to get the percussive effect.
He uses his thumb to slap and his fingers the play the double stops in vultures. I use a combination of my thumb to slap the low E (muted) and the back of my finger nails the hit the notes on best 2 and 4. Its a odd technique to get your fingers around but when you get it you'll start to use it all over the place. Learn Heart of Life or Stop this Train to get the technique down.