Ok I've been playing for almost 4 months and since I'm stuck practing open chords now.I want to spice things up and learn other stuff to.
I will practice 3-5hours every day(now it's an average of almost 3hours I think).

I mostly want to play punk rock but also some other stuff.

My goals

1)Playing open chords flawlessly,and at a good speed so I'll be able to play songs using open chords.

2)Power chords flawlessly,and needed speed also.

3)Barre chords

4)Palm muting/fret hand muting

5)Slides,pull offs,hamer-ons,bends

6)Learn soloing,specific to punk.

I've learned setting good goals is a good way of staying motivated so I will do that.
But now I need to set specific goals,something reachable you know.
I can't just say I want to master open chords because that's not something I could 'reach'.

It's a bit difficult for me to explain cuz I'm not a native speaker but I hope you understand what I mean.

Btw for those guys saying just play songs and have fun blablabla.I practiced other stuff to when I was younger like sports and stuff so I know how I usually practice stuff and motivate myself and this is my way to do it believe me.

Now my questions

1)How to translate those goals to something reachable?(I use a metronome to practice)

2)How do I practice my soloing skills?

3)Anyone know songs so I could perfect my open chords?
Last edited by FlyingStar at Nov 4, 2009,
If you want to play power chords fast, tune to drop d (DADGBe), you'll be able to do them blazingly fast, because you only have to use one finger for the power chords on the lower 3 strings, (DAD)
Guitar:
Jackson DX10D Dinky
Ibanez Tone Blaster 150w head
Line Six 4x12 cab
Marshall MG10CD
Dunlop Crybaby from Hell

Bass:
Ibanez ATK
Random ass EQ thing that's not even a real bass amp
1x18 2x10 cab
Last edited by ninjaapirate at Nov 4, 2009,
Quote by ninjaapirate