Does anyone know of any hard jazz songs with good rhythms and solos?

Cheers.
hmm thats fair enough, I just needed a jazz song to play for my music college audition is all

Learning to be a proper jazz guitarist would be cool, but being completely self taught and with no reputable guitar teachers around in this area it would be exceptionally hard, so i'm more interested in just learning a song to get me into college.
Last edited by Ritley at Nov 5, 2009,
Jazz auditions in college are not looking for "crazy" or "hard" songs. They will generally want you to be able to play a 12-bar blues standard (i.e., Blue Train, Blue Monk) and a jazz standard (i.e. Autumn Leaves, Oleo, Girl from Ipanema). You need to be able to comp those songs as well as solo over the changes. Generally you will sit down with one person, often a bassist or pianist, and they will comp while you play the melody. Then the two of you will trade choruses.

There will also many times be a sight-reading section and a few other things along those lines such as transcribing a melody, looking at sheet music and choosing what scale is shown there, and a key signature test.

If you don't play jazz, they will be able to tell and your audition will not go well.

I would know. I've been through the process before.
Quote by dudetheman
So what? I wasted like 5 minutes watching DaddyTwoFoot's avatar.

Metalheads are the worst thing that ever happened to metal.
Last edited by DaddyTwoFoot at Nov 5, 2009,
Quote by DaddyTwoFoot
Jazz auditions in college are not looking for "crazy" or "hard" songs. They will generally want you to be able to play a 12-bar blues standard (i.e., Blue Train, Blue Monk) and a jazz standard (i.e. Autumn Leaves, Oleo, Girl from Ipanema). You need to be able to comp those songs as well as solo over the changes. Generally you will sit down with one person, often a bassist or pianist, and they will comp while you play the melody. Then the two of you will trade choruses.