I'm 16 and have been playing guitar for three and a half years. My mom suggested that I should play at this place for open mike night. The only problem is that I'm just a guitarist and IMO just hearing someone play guitar alone wouldn't be that entertaining. Atleast for my playing because I'm definitely as good as I want to be. My question is am I wrong assuming that? I would be far better off with a singer but there isn't anybody I know of who would be up for it. Also I'm not the most sociable person either. And what could I expect playing at a open mike night? The only time I played in front of people was for a small rehersal for maybe 20 people.
generally open mic nights there are a few people there that may be looking for new members,
if good enough you can get a call back to perform for pay

But i would advice trying to find a singer, waddle down to the music store and ask if there are any singing students. you are bound to ifnd some one in your age group who is a singer without music
Any recommendations? As in acoustic instrumentals? I don't really have one specific genre that I limit myself to so I'm pretty much open to anything. Just not anything to difficult as I'm not that great playing guitar.
I think that you are thinking in the right direction. But, go to the open mic night and see if there are any singers there that you can hook up with.

I'm a shy person too, but when you do music, you have to at least be able to act. That includes when you're on stage... yes, you're a musician, but you're the shy actor who has been given the part of Keith Richards. Can you act?

If you can, act the part of a networking guru.... go talk to people. You'll find that most musicians are a shy but friendly lot, but not necessarily all that smart. In almost 25 years of playing in bands, I don't think I have *ever* been laughed at and brushed off for going up and talking to another musician about music. We're always happy to chat.

CT