This is my first real amp. I had a crappy practice amp that came with my guitar, got a better but still crappy practice amp. Then I started playing on my PC using amp sims as I have a nice Tascam USB mixer interface. I hated being tether to my PC though, and wanted something with knobs I could tweak. I'm still under a year playing, but I love all kinds of music and try to play some rock, metal, blues so I wanted something versatile, small and had a headphone jack.

I was set on a Peavey Vypyr 15, found a music store that had one in stock and was on my way to grab it. Up here in Canada, at least in my area the cheapest for the vypyr 15 is $139 + 14% tax, so around $160 total. On a whim, I stopped at another music to see what they had. I was looking at various amps there, same price range, then I started looking through the used section. Most of the stuff there was beat to hell and looked like it had toured the world 3 times over. Tucked away behind a box was an amp that looked brand new. I pulled it out and gave it a look over and then asked the owner about it. It told me it was a friend of his that wanted to play guitar, bought a bunch of gear off him, played like 10 times, then sold him everything back. The amp sat in his finished basement for a year with almost zero play time.

I plugged it in, grabbed one of the only 2 lefty guitars in the shop and played around for a while. He wanted $220 + tax for it. I told him it was my birthday and I had $180 bucks to spend, would he take $180 with taxes. He said sure. I paid the man and left.

I know the XL in the series was the higher gain series, but I don't mind. The 12" speaker I think blows away what a 8" could do in the vypyr. Do I need a zillion amp models and presets? No, thats where I was getting lost with the amp sims on the pc. I have a couple of sounds in my head that I want for a few genres I'm trying to learn, and I can already get close with the vox with not much tweaking.