Okay... I've been playing guitar for a solid two years now and I still don't know exactly what a tube amp has over different models. Is there a difference? Is it sound quality? What?

Thanks in advance.
duz my bahd spelin boter u? den mayb u shud stap weeding all uv da sigs on dis paj.
Its a different circuit. A solid state amp is always going to respond in exactly a same way. As tubes age their sound changes the current they are hit with affects this too.

when a solid state amp is hit with more than it can handle the excess is simple cut off while it causes distortion in a tube circuit.
*lust list*
Vox tone lab
Vox ac50
satchurator
satches time machine
vintage phase 90
Money towards this gear = $0.00

Quote by Doctor Matthews
Yeah I dreamt I was fighting Master Hand, but then I woke up to realize I was jackin' it in my sleep.
The distortion and overdrive has a more natural sounding tone and the clipping has a soft compression to it causing it to have a more organic sound as opposed to a more harsh clipping sound from transistors. Though some mid range and higher end ss amps have come to sound more natural and "tube like."
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!
Quote by TechnoLp
Its a different circuit. A solid state amp is always going to respond in exactly a same way. As tubes age their sound changes the current they are hit with affects this too.

when a solid state amp is hit with more than it can handle the excess is simple cut off while it causes distortion in a tube circuit.

What the hell are you smoking? In any case, stop.
In general, tube amps are usually seen as having a warmer sound and are more dynamic. It is also said that when you push tubes harder, the way they clip is more pleasant than the way transistors clip (soft vs. hard clipping). These are the two main differences.

╠═══════╬═══════╣

THE SINE WAVE SURFER σƒ τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ

╠═══════╬═══════╣