I'm trying to flatwounds right now. I have D'Addario Chromes on my Italia Maranello 61. Sounds great!
2010 Gibson SG Honeyburst
I'm a musician, a composer, and a theory nut. Pleased to meet you! Check out my websites and drop me a line.

"The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude. " ~ Freidrich Nietzche

My Website
Last edited by Angusman60 at Nov 10, 2009,
I ****ing hate flatwounds with a passion. I have them on my epiphone right now and they make me want to jump off a cliff and land in dumpster full of nails.
haha why do you not like about them?
I'm a musician, a composer, and a theory nut. Pleased to meet you! Check out my websites and drop me a line.

"The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude. " ~ Freidrich Nietzche

My Website
I actually like flatwound for bass more
COLORS!

OMG

Quote by Sleaze Disease
Also, people who wear Monster swag are automatically douches.
I think they're alright, but there isn't much clank to them.. nice for jazz, and stuff where you don't want to have a treble sound
Quote by CoreysMonster
Why, my pasty danish cracker, I believe you've got it!
Quote by Gakbez
I think they're alright, but there isn't much clank to them.. nice for jazz, and stuff where you don't want to have a treble sound

this. they do change the sound a lot, but i wish you could get the feel of flatwounds and the tone of round wounds in one set of strings i love the feel but the sound isn't really my cup of tea.
I like analogue Solid State amps that make no effort to be "tube-like", and I'm proud of it...

...A little too proud, to be honest.
my italia's pickups are really hot anyway...so having round wounds is almost too much treble if you know what i mean

My Website
I'm using flatwounds also. I personally don't like a lot of treble too much. In some cases it's great if I'm doing certain chords, but for soloing or most rhythm, I don't like the treble. It can get kinda ear piercing and just over the top.