i have a marshall MGDFX50.. and dont hate on the amp im looking at getting another a little after christmas.. but for the time being im not very good at finding good tones and i play a lot of metal. so i was wondering, what are good settings for the amp if i play lead?
One setting I like is to set everything at 6. Move the highs until they sound like you will have enough percussion without sounding tinny. Adjust the lows until your sound is fat but not boomy. Next, and most important, adjust your mids so your sound doesn't sound like its lacking character, but also doesn't sound like Muddy Waters trying to play some corpse.
"If you're looking for me,
you better check under the sea,
because that's where you'll find me..."
Quote by Phat Stud 55
For metal turn the Bass and Treble knobs up and the Middle Knob down.

You're not gonna get a tone which sets the world on fire with that amp, but you can get something passable if, like DeathByDestroyr said, you start with everything at 5 or 6, then use your ear to work out what you want more and less of. Good and bad tone is entirely subjective
Quote by fleajr_1412
You have amazing taste in men.

Are You a PROG-HEAD? I am.
call me stupid, cus when it comes to amps i really am, it doesnt have mids in the distortion part it says those are part of the clean settings. the distortion setting has "contour"