Hi there,

I bought a new Farida acoustic guitar a few months ago. I am pretty new to guitar. I picked it up today and the 6th string was ringing strangely. I thought my capo might not have been tight enough so I took the capo off (I had only just put it on, I don't leave it on while the guitar is in the case) and played it again but it was having the same strange reverberating noise sounding somewhat like a Jose Gonzalez song! I turned on the on board tuner and strummed the string a few times and adjusted it to be exactly tuned but the noise was still there, it sounds like it is just hitting something as it vibrated. I tightened it up to G and the sound was gone, unwound it back to E and it was there again!

What should I do? The neck does not look bent at all and I always keep the guitar in the case when not in use. The string might need replacing? I've never tied these types of strings before so that might call for my first trip to the guitar store.

Thanks for the help!
James
step 1 - try to find where exactly it is buzzing - at which point is the string is hitting the frets or whatever

step 2 - make the string higher near that point.. eg. my friend's guitar had a buzz at the first frets on the E string because the groove in the nut was too deep. My temporary solution was to just jam a bit of paper under there to lift the string up.. worked perfectly

ps. don't tune it back up to G again :P
haha thanks champ =) I won't tune it up again. Well, I tried lifting the string/observing it as it vibrates and it doesn't appear to hit anything... If I stick my ear closer it feels like the sound is coming from inside like something is rattling around as I shake it... As I mentioned it does have an on board tuner and some wires that run to the battery housing/amp plug. I don't know =S I think I will just take it to the guys because I don't want to stuff anything up hehe. Arg! such a hassle. In such a guitar mood tonight.