Page 1 of 2
i'm new to bass, and i picked it up because i loved the sound of it, but i dont know who are considered bass legends, i want to know who they are, and i dont just wanna see some names, id like to know about their styles, and what you think about them

thx alot
Sid Vicious was probably the tightest, most musically advanced bassist of all time.
Most consistent and nicest sounding tone of any bass player.
Quote by Vindication
sorry, but were you born a dumbass or did your mom n' dad take turns bashing your head with cinderblocks?

Quote by Gemini
You know that if you image search "pitbulls humping", all that comes up is a myspace a guy made for their dog?

I didn't actually..
Quote by HammettHead
Sid Vicious was probably the tightest, most musically advanced bassist of all time.

LOL

legendary bass players for me are

Cliff Burton
Mike Dirnt
Chris #2
John Entwhistle

theres more but cba naming more LMAO
Guitar Gear
Guitar: Ibanez GRG140 (black)
Amp:Peavey Vypyr 75

Bass Gear
Bass: Fender P-bass MIM,Peavey Millenium 5 BXP (x2),Epiphone Thunderbird
Amp:Ampeg PF500 w PF210 cab
Pedals: ODB-3,Big Muff.
ITT: People name their favourite bassists...

A legitimate legend was James Jamerson. He expanded popular bass playing from simple walking and root-fifth lines into melodic, syncopated basslines. He was the session bassist on practically every motown record until the early 70s, and his style basically made the Motown sound. The only way he'd have been more of a legend is if he expanded his technical repertoire a bit more, since that was one of the reasons why he eventually was unable to find session work.