Hey all, UG noob here so go easy on me.

Could anyone tell me what the difference between an Epi vs. Gib explorer? On the surface it seems that its the gear inside but the body/wood is the same. So theoretically, if you fit both guitars with the same pickups, wouldn't you get a near identical sound from both guitars?

Thanks!
-Mark
well i can tell u this gibsons are nice but im an epiphone guy cuz they r cheaper and about the same
A Gibson explorer will be made in the USA, as apposed to China or Korea for the Epiphone.

You'll get WAY better pickups. The 496R and 500T are way better than "Alnico Classic" pickups.

The body woods are the same, but you'll get a better quality wood with Gibson.

The neck woods are different, the Epi has Maple and the Gibson has Mahogany.

The Gibson will have better quality hardware and possibly a better QC.

You'll get a hardcase with the Gibson, worth about $200.

Overall, the Gibson will be a better guitar. But yes, theoretically, if you put a 496R and a 500T into an Epiphone Explorer, you'll get a very similar sound to that of the Gibson Explorer. But keep in mind, those two pickups are about $110 each. And a Epiphone Explorer is $500. You probably won't get much money for the Alnico Plus/Classic pickups if you were to sell them (maybe $20 each, tops). And if you don't put them in yourself, it would cost around $50 to replace the pickups. So you're looking at putting in almost $300 into a $500 guitar, where you will probably be able to sell it for $500, should you decide to sell it in the future.