I've been playing guitar for a few years and I'd like to advance my improvisation since at this point, it kinda blows. I've already taken Music Theory classes and I'm currently taking AP Music Theory at my school, so I don't need to have music theory itself explained to me. Just how to apply it to the fretboard. Any recommendations? An online guide or something explaining this would be even better if possible.
Quote by Spitz13
**** you, i live in uruguay.
listen so solos/riffs from bands you like, learn em and analyse them. Then apply them into your improvisation, guess it's your phrasing you want to improve. Just a tip.

And when it comes to books and such things I have no idea, ever looked through UG TV:s videos? YOu should be able to find something there. Don't know if this was helpful but I hope so ^^
The way I learned how to improvise was just through knowing the Pentatonic Scale. But not mostly that, but through practice and experimenting. Trying to figure out what notes sound good with other notes. Theory just gives you a set of rules to follow, and one days these rules need to be broken to give yourself your own style, or else you become another common guitarist.
OP, read these!:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0962477060/ref=oss_T15_product
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0962477028/ref=oss_T15_product

Bonus: buying both gets you free shipping!*
Downside: Fretboard Logic III isn't as universally helpful.

*Some restrictions apply.

:EDIT: Wait, are you looking to get better at improvising or get a better understanding of how music theory applies to the fretboard?
Last edited by iforgot120 at Nov 14, 2009,