Hey, I'm a 19 year old guitarist and i got a band back in my hometown. I'm out at college 6 hours away but when i get back this summer we want to get the band really going. The only problem is we said that last year and still didn't play shows, just got messed up and jammed all the time.
Soo...does anyone have tips on how i can get going and get the band out playing venues and recording? We have the equipment and talent necessary.
Also with some songs we get too ADD to finish them plus we get creative streaks that lead to new songs we don't finish.
Any advice will help! So feel free to criticize.
i would say just concentrate on making a couple songs, getting them recorded, and giving them to local venues.
My Gear:

Fretless Squier P Bass
Ibanez SR400QM
Gallien Krueger 1001RB
Traynor TC410
Digitech Whammy
Boss DD-7
Quote by 7leafvacation
alright, sounds like a plan

Talk to club owners about shows, CALL THEM, and if they say "we'll see" call them again the next week. Be persistent.
Oct. 20th, 2009: New guitar AND front row for Mars Volta.

Quote by denizenz
Is that a ukulele in your pants, or did you just rip ass to the tune of "Aloha Oi"?

I met Sonic Youth on June 30th, and Mars Volta on Oct 20th.
Last edited by soundgarden19 at Nov 16, 2009,
Quote by 7leafvacation
Hey, I'm a 19 year old guitarist and i got a band back in my hometown. I'm out at college 6 hours away but when i get back this summer we want to get the band really going. The only problem is we said that last year and still didn't play shows, just got messed up and jammed all the time.
Soo...does anyone have tips on how i can get going and get the band out playing venues and recording? We have the equipment and talent necessary.
Also with some songs we get too ADD to finish them plus we get creative streaks that lead to new songs we don't finish.
Any advice will help! So feel free to criticize.