Hey guys, despite the fact that I've been playing for two years, I'm gonna come across as a bit of a 'tard for asking this.
Basically, on a guitar with a neck and bridge pickup, which is the standard postion for lead, and which is the standard for rythym? I have always played lead on the neck pup and rythym on the bridge, but I've been told this isn't 'standard'. i realise different pups give different tones, so you don't necessarily have to play lead on just the neck or just the bridge, if you get what i'm saying, but it'd be nice to know.
thanks.
2009 Gibson Explorer - 2008 Washburn Idol WI45f - 1965 MiJ Ibanez Salvador Classical
Bogner Alchemist 40w 1x12" - Marshall MG10CD
It doesn't matter really, its what sound/tone you're going for on your leads. Traditionally yes the bridge pickup is the lead pickup but then what about guitar with just one pup like mine right? If you like to solo on the neck theres nothing wrong with that, lots do it. There are no rules
2003 Music Man Axis Pacific Blue Burst
no your right, it's not standard

the neck is generally for rhythm and bridge for lead
but i'm like you funnily enough
i find i can use the bridge on my tele for most things and only really break out the neck for thick leads

screw the orthodox man, just do what sounds best with it
I use Bridge for rythm and the Neck for leads, when Im playing metal

I switch it up however for other stuff though.
Depends what music you play. In Metal, bridge is lead becasue it stands out more, but in lighter rock its the neck becasue of the warmer smoother tone.

Fender Telecaster w/ GFS Lil' Killer
Jet City Pico Valve

Quote by Chaos-Serenade

The fretboard is dry because it is more than likely made in China.

I wonder how he came to this conclusion.
Lyrics
Inside the back
Walk with me
Reign, Rain

Call me Drew
wait wait wait...

what?

I've always hear of neck being lead for the smoothness...