Hi all,
I recently got my first tube amp ( Marshall half stack jcm 2000 dsl 100 watts). Obviously , this is a rather loud amp. I was wondering however, if there is a mod you can do (or has ever been done) on tube amps to make them run at lower wattage settings (ex: going from 100watts to 30 watts or something). I saw this feature on a bogner combo amp in guitar center (the alchemist i think) and it seemed to be a great feature that would allow you to sound better at lower volumes.

I am new to tube amps, but i do know that they sound best when the master volume is somewhere around 4 or 5, but this is simply to loud for an apartment (i bought it so i could start gigging soon). While their is little difference in max volume for amps based on wattage, it seems to make sense that a lower wattage tube amp would be able to sound better at a lower volume (relative to the listener) than a large 100 watt one would (since the master volume would have to be lower, and thus tone would be no bueno).

now i am aware of attenuators, but this seems like a better idea (for getting a better tone at least) . So does anyone know anything about this? feel free to correct me if this idea is wrong. also, any attenuator suggestions are welcome.
A lot of tube amplifiers incorporate a 1/2 power switch to drop the power, so modifying a tube amplifier to do this is possible. I don't know how much it would cost.
I do believe on some amps you can pull the two inner power tubes to run the amp at half power (50 watts). Do some research because I'm not quite sure if it would work with yor Marshall.

-Gibson LP VM
-Silvertone Kentucky Blue
-MXR CC Delay
-Ibanez TS-9
-Egnater Rebel 20

My rig is simple
Haha. UG's Chuck just said chuck. haha
You're not truly playing guitar unless you know theory.
outer. on most amps it's the outer two powertubes. consult your owner's manual for specifics, but I believe this to be true for the JCM2000.