Ok so Totally lost! I'm not quite sure if this is where this thread belongs, I've searched and couldn't find any forums for live sound, but was wondering whether this goes under recording *shrugs*

OK so real question is that I have no idea how to build/arrange a rack, or what the hell goes into one to begin with... Basically I'm a noob in the Live Sound department, and need help understanding.
What kind of setup are you looking for? Are you going to use a rackmount bass amplifier head, or a rackmount preamp and separate power amplifier? What else are you looking to put in your rack? A compressor? A power conditioner? A multi-effects unit? You need to figure out what it is you plan to incorporate before you can set it up. And knowing this in advance will tell you how many rack spaces you will need in your rack.
You don't even know what you want so I daresay you don't need a rack. At least I know what I want in mine.
2 different strategyies to start out with

using a rackmount head unit that has preamp and power amp built in.

OR

finding a preamp you really like and then add a PA style power amp of however much wattage you need.

the benifits of going option number 2 is that you can get biamp power for cheaper. and as far as tone it just depends on what sound you are after and what preamp you pick.

here are some preamps options to get you started

BBE Bmax (they make solid state and tube version the tube version is better but if you cant afford it the solid state still sounds nice)

rocktron blue thunder (heard mix reviews about this but i think the general consensus is that it works better as a post effects then as a stand alone unit)

sansamp RBI (different opinions on this preamp too some people love it as a stand alone unit others like me think that by itself it is lacking something but can sound amazing when in the effects loop of a different preamp)