Hey guys!

Well ive been learning guitar for over 3 years now and i still have a $20 Behringer Strat i got from a pawn shop. This Christmas my family have decided they want to buy me a proper guitar but i have no idea what to go for.. I really like playing metal, anything from Iron Maiden Black Sabbath to Children of Bodom but i cant choose what guitar i'd like.

I've had my eye on some ibanez' and gibson les pauls but i have really no idea what is good or not.

basically any guitar will be a gigantic upgrade but i cant think!

Ibanez RG Tremolo?
Gibson Les Paul ?

if anyone has any ideas of stuff i could look at that would be great!

oh, currently i just play on my own but im looking to form a band with some friends so i hope ive given enough info!

cheers!
I am not going to make any suggestions but if your going to spend that amount of money on a guitar and clearly have that much divergence in what you want id be very careful and REALLY think hard about what you want, lest you buy something quick and end up regretting it
Quote by Shred Head
You have an atrocious sense of humour!

Quote by StrayCatBlues
You win 100 hilarity points.

Spend them wisely.

Quote by GrisKy
you're a funny, funny man, chimp in a tux... funny indeed.
Do your research on the pros and cons of guitars that catch your eye... then go to a good guitar store and test them for what you want.
if you're going to be playing songs with down tunings you might want a longer scale length (gibson's are 24.75" while ibanez would be 25.5") but thats not a big down point to a les paul. a half or even a whole step down can still work just fine.