Hey, I have a 5150 halfstack, and Say what you will about scooped mids, I love the sound, I can't seem to get a scoopy sound with it no matter how low i turn the knob... Anyway I have an mxr 10 band eq, and I was wondering if anybody had a chart or setting for a scooped mid sound, I am very new to eq's. Thanks!
well think about it...u want to SCOOP the MIDS. start with the far left band. jack that up a bit, jack up the next one a little more, and then do a downward slope that peaks at the middle bands, then come back up, and peak again the second one from the right, and bring the last one down a bit.

i only use a 7 band and keep it like this for crazy scooped tone.

/  /             /
                              /
-------------------------------------
                       /
                    /
                 /

so try that shape with the extra bands u have, and just keep adjusting.
Mesa F-30 - 1x12 V30
PRS SE Custom 24 (GFS Crunchy PATs)
PRS SE Singlecut (Evo/Air Norton)
1989 Starforce (GFS PowerRails)
Morley Tremonti Power Wah, TS7 (808-Mod), Pitchblack, Boss DD-3, DE FnC
Last edited by xxunder-takerxx at Nov 16, 2009,
Quote by xxunder-takerxx
well think about it...u want to SCOOP the MIDS. start with the far left band. jack that up a bit, jack up the next one a little more, and then do a downward slope that peaks at the middle bands, then come back up, and peak again the second one from the right, and bring the last one down a bit.

i only use a 7 band and keep it like this for crazy scooped tone.

/ / /
/
-------------------------------------
/
/
/

so try that shape with the extra bands u have, and just keep adjusting.

Do you use it in your loop?
Quote by Grenade979
Do you use it in your loop?

yea. it changes the tone drastically (a good thing).
Mesa F-30 - 1x12 V30
PRS SE Custom 24 (GFS Crunchy PATs)
PRS SE Singlecut (Evo/Air Norton)
1989 Starforce (GFS PowerRails)
Morley Tremonti Power Wah, TS7 (808-Mod), Pitchblack, Boss DD-3, DE FnC