Hey i am pretty new to guitar and ultimate guitar. Seems like a great site. I was just seeking advice and i know there are many players here. Any help is appreciated. Well i am a fan of many genres right now big into John Mayer and the whole Blues Rock and i want to play like that I know he is a fan of clapton,hendrix,Srv and the like. I have learned E based Barre Chords and a number of open chords and i learned the minor pentatonic scale (doesn't sound soulful when i try to play it) I really wanna be awesome at guitar and I try to cover songs but there are sooooo many chords and different ways that ppl play things! I have no idea what to do to progress. I am taking lessons now and i feel like im doing a better job discovering things on my own. Plz help and sorry for this long message.
Playing guitar is one of those things that takes experience to improve at. Keep playing and you'll get better; that's all I can really say.
@Xice Yeah i wish all the skill i have as a gamer would translate to guitar playing but i guess you are right. I didn't become the kick ass gamer that i am over night took time and many a restless nights. Its just a bit discouraging at times. Anyone a big fan of Blues Rock? Have anytips? I wrote a song using the thumb over barre chords but i was only able to do so because it kinda piggy backed off of John Mayer's Friends Lovers or nothing
hey lonely, i also suck ass at guitar =DD figured a little advice from one noob to another may help haha

first thing i will say is expand your interests - dont just think 'MUST PLAY MAYER...MUST PLAY MAYER'. that was my original outlook just playin Slash licks but then i realised i could absorb his notes, but not his feel... thats something you must develop on your own, and i done it by sampling different types of music, and trying to combine it.