For christmas i was planning on buying myself a little something, a Bugera 6262 head and a Vader 2x12 cab.

However, the thought came up, what if i want to play at night, in my dorm, at a friends house when i can't turn up the volume? The head has a 4, 8, 16 ohm switch and i need to specify the impedance i want on the cab when i order it. What are the advantages/disadvantages of the different ohm ratings? i need to know so i can buy myself a hotplate to work with them.

Thanks in advance, S.P.

GUITARS CURRENTLY USED
Ibanez RG7621
Ibanez RG121
ESP LTD H-400
Last edited by SPBY at Nov 17, 2009,
unfortunately, I can't answer your question as I have no experience with attenuators...what I can tell you, however, is that tube amps don't sound as terrible at low volumes as most people would have you believe...My Marshall 6100 sounds just fine for quiet playing, in fact, the clips on my profile were with the volume at about 1.5.

Try the amp out at low volumes before you blow money on a possibly unnecessary attenuator!
http://www.youtube.com/user/chuckmehh
Randall RM100/Basson Cab
DBX166XL/BBE Sonic Maximizer
Boss NS-2, sCream Cheese 2.0 OD, Zakk Wylde wah
Custom Epiphones
Monster Cables
Awe-in-One picks..and more
doesn't matter really as long as it matches, there is no audible difference
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!
you get the most power using the 4ohm tap, but i dunno if you can get a 2x12 in a 4ohm configuration.

just go with an 8ohm cab, it's the most common anyway.
Gibson SG Standard + 18volt EMG-81 & 85
Mesa/Boogie Mark IV + Recto 2x12
Keeley Modded BD-2
Vox V847a
Quote by one vision
Bureaucrats gonna crat.

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by chuckmehh