Hi i wonder if anyone can help the correct thumb placement on the guitar neck, mainly while playing barre chords, i dont put my thumb right in the center which i have heard is correct i also use my thumb to sometimes push tot he next chord which leaves it off to one side a bit, although i get a decent clear sound i just dont want to develop baad technique and if there is a problem i would like to correct it now.

my major issue tthough is playing A shape barre chords lower down the neck from around c sharp and lower my thumb goes into a very awkward position and i have pain doing this, my thumb instead of pointing up as usual tends to run parralel to the guitar neck if that makes sense, i have sat and tried to do it other ways but it seems this is the only way i can get this barre chord shape, i find it hard to do and the sound isnt allways 100% clear.

Thanks for any tips in advance.
Hiya :~)
Well my advice is when your playing different notes your thumb will change position so try putting your thumb at a 300 degree angle \ < like that.

Then just try practicing easy songs and just keep your thumb in that position.

And on another note there is no wrong position for your thumb its just your own personal style.

Hope this helps and I think its what you meant.
Quote by zFamous
Hiya :~)
Well my advice is when your playing different notes your thumb will change position so try putting your thumb at a 300 degree angle \ < like that.

Then just try practicing easy songs and just keep your thumb in that position.

And on another note there is no wrong position for your thumb its just your own personal style.

Hope this helps and I think its what you meant.

Wrong. If your thumb placement isn't good it can lead to tendinitis as someone else who posted in this forum in the past couple of days found out.

TS: This is where your thumb should be:

It's a classical guitar neck and that's a small hand but her thumb is well placed.