alright so i've been playing for a little over 2 years now, and have become a little dissatisfied in the overall sound of my basses, not that their bad instruments, but it just feels like with something little better i could really push potential, so my guitarist recommended a new bass completely, or get a set of EMG's or Seymour Duncan pickups, any advice? any help much appreciated
Your profile says Squier MB4 and Bronze Warlock, it is definately DEFINATELY your choice in basses. Squiers are brilliant apart from the Mb4 and Affinity basses, look to them for a replacement. Also your amp will make a huge difference, what do you have?
running off a fender rumble [15? its only 30 watts..] at home, but when we do bigger sessions we run off a PA system, not sure which, also at times when we're at the drummer house they have a full peavy cab/head setup they let me use
Quote by helsem997
running off a fender rumble [15? its only 30 watts..] at home, but when we do bigger sessions we run off a PA system, not sure which, also at times when we're at the drummer house they have a full peavy cab/head setup they let me use

Yep, its your choice of bass, not amp. There's no point getting new pickups unless its a high end model (MIA, etc) or else you'll probably end up spending more on the pickups that the actual bass. Save up $200ish and buy a Vintage Modified Squier bass, they come with SD pickups installed anyway.
much appreciated, and will look into the vintage, but as for the time being i've been interested in a few epiphones i tried our at guitar center, also have been looking into tracking down a dean or ESP, i dont buy dumb anymore, i only got the previous basses cause they were cheap and i needed something to start on, so im doing a lot of looking into/ testing out as much as i can, if any input on aforementioned brands if you have any?
Quote by helsem997