Hi everybody... I have a question for you. I'm no beginner, I've been playin for a few years, but I'm having this pretty big problem. I break too many strings. Mainly the D string. I own three guitars, a mexican strat, a gibson les paul, a jackson rr3, so three different kinds of bridges. Tried different (lighter) picks. Tried pickin lighter. My hands sweat pretty much and I often forget to clean the strings, so they rust quickly enough, but c'mon it's impossible, always the same string in three different guitars and with different gauges of picks. It's like I break a D string every week or maybe every 3-4 days. I play 9-42 on the jackson and 9-46 on the other guitars. I think it's got nothing to do with the way I restring, I even restringed friends' guitars sometimes and they didn't break them for months.
I really can't play with bigger strings, I tried but I find it impossible. I think it's got something to do with the way I pick, but I don't know. I'm self taught so probably I don't have the correct technique and it's got something to do with that. I'm out of ideas. I only know it's becoming more and more frustrating. Please give me some tips or just share your thoughts. thank you
they always break at the bridge, let's say 2-3 centimeters from the ball end.
some days I can play 2-3 hours, some I don't even pick up the guitar. Let's just say I play averagely 1 hour a day, but it doesn't seem to be connected to that. The last D string I broke (yesterday), was on the strat. I had restringed it the other week, then went to rehearsals, cleaned it after playing and put it back in the case. Yesterday I took it out of the case with the strings still shining, maybe just a little bit of dirt under the strings. After 10 minutes of playng the D string was gone
i know the feeling. my 3rd string broke on a regular basis on my acoustic and my kelly but after a while it just kinda stopped. havent had the problem for some time now. i really dont know what causes it