I have been playing for about 10 months, but I only very recently (Like, a week ago) started training my ear. I have always been able to tell the sounds of major and minor open pisition chords, but just last week I managed to figure out that soft melody in Suicide And Redemption by ear 90% correctly. I used a little bit of theory (I know how much Kirk uses the minor pentatonic) but mainly my ear.

If I do 10-15 minutes a day of trying to figure stuff out, how long will it take before I am able to tab a full song by ear? I don't mean something like a few major chords, but stuff on Metallicas first few albums, and Iron Maiden songs.

Also, do you have any suggestons for rock/metal songs to attempt to tab?
Quote by stephen_rettie
exactly 3 months and 5 days.

This ^

Seriously though, there is no certain amount of time.

It all depends on how much effort you put into it.
Last edited by Matt420740 at Nov 18, 2009,
Quote by stephen_rettie
exactly 3 months and 5 days.

any sooner and you're a prodigy, any later and you should stop playing altogether. Best of luck!
Quote by Twist of fate
Once, I watched Star Wars episode 4. I timed myself so that I came right when the death star blew up.

Afterwards, Han Solo said "Great shot kid, that was one in a million!"
I can't learn by ear, but here's my two cents: learn to play your own music first. That is, learn to map out those melodies in your head. Become the kinda guy who can write out a new riff on a dinner napkin.

When you can do that, learning a new song by ear is as simple as humming the tune. More or less.

Personally, as I continue to learn and grow as a guitarist (and likewise learn to play what's in my head), it's much, much easier to "figure out" other pieces of music. In the midst of playing scales and random improv, I'll sometimes pick up on a key riff or melody and go on to work out a decent chunk of it.

It might not be the quickest way, but at least for me, it's the most valuable. It's a twofold benefit.