Hey everyone, I'm new to the forums, and I've been spending time reading a lot of the stickies, as well as other threads, but I figure I'll make my own and ask some questions and voice the concerns I have, regarding my guitar playing.

I've been playing on and off for a few years now (mostly off, due to other obligations), and am entirely self-taught. As of late, I'm just about ready to break the guitars I have (one acoustic, one electric), because I finally decided to start playing again (after another 3 month break), and it's just awful to see how little I've managed to progress. I'm seriously getting discouraged with it all.

Now, I've read .pdfs of Jamey Andreas' Correct Principles of Guitar Practice, as well as other resources, and I understand that you're supposed to go slowly and build up over time, but no matter what I try to do, I don't seem to go anywhere.

Let me get to my main questions/concerns:

1) When I play, especially my electric, I sit with my left food on a block slightly elevated, so the guitar can rest over my left thigh, and the head comes up about eye level or so. This, as I understand it, is best, to have it elevated. When I do this, however, I try to avoid "anchoring" my right arm, but if I don't allow my forearm (closer to the elbow) to touch the body of the guitar, I find it slips away from me. I seem to keep my forearm there to stabilize the guitar. After looking up some stuff here, I can't tell if that's normal or not, but I'm hoping it is, because I've grown so comfortable that way, and trying to lift my arm up and around so as not to "anchor" is making everything that much harder.