I've been playing guitar for several years, as well as the occasional electric bass. I've gotten into rockabilly and psychobilly music, and I really want to buy and learn how to pluck/slap on an upright bass. I have some questions-
1. What kind should I buy? I know there are different sizes and such. And where do I buy one not online?
2. I'm self taught on my other instruments. I've found some videos of upright bass lessons, so along with the help of these, is it reasonable that I could teach myself how to play upright as well?

Thanks for any help
Well rockabilly is generally IMO the sloppiest form of playing, the violin approach to holding the instrument anyway. If you want to make it worth while playing this instrument, first of all find a really good teacher, preferable one who classically trains you. They'll probably give you a free intro lesson, for you to see if you like it. Then if you do you can rent or buy yourself a double bass. A double bass to buy, for a good one i would look at around 1500 then another 100-200 for the setup, that a beginner plywood one anyway.
Double bass is very different from guitar and bass, and should not be approached like either. Get yourself a teacher, learn properly and make it worth while, its a great instrument.
Yamaha TRB1006
Fender MIA jazz bass
Hora Hybrid double bass
Hartke lh 500
Ev 606L
Epiphone les paul
1) I'd look used. Used uprights are always better anyways. Unless you're over two metres tall, you're going to use a 3/4.

2) Your intonation gets away with murder when you play piz. As soon as you switch to bow, it's all over :P If you want to learn Arco (bow) you need a teacher for sure.

I think you're going to have problems with the intonation. I learnt how to play one note at a time. I started at first position, and when I could play it perfectly in tune (without looking at my hand really) then I went to second. I used powertab and a tuner to check my notes.