Ok so I have been playing guitar for 5 years ish, I love it I am self taught with some tips from people I have played with. I know how to play a number of songs and all, and I try to learn scales and all but I suck at it I guess would be the easiest way to put it. Same with chords I know basic chords or so I thought but I get confused on them for example http://www.chordbook.com/guitarchords.php I was trying to learn more but I am so confused now on what all these chords are, I guess I wasnt aware of all the chords in each root? Im not sure if im making sense.

So I have two questions I guess.
1) I am wondering i guess what the names of all these chords are in each root and how to get a better understanding of them.

2) As far as scales go I doodle around and can kinda make stuff up but I suck at trying to improvise over someone elses riff. I try to understand reading scale books I just suck at applying it to my playing.

Sorry for this monster of a post but I am just going crazy trying to learn all this.
Get a Guitar teacher.
Your light bulb knows everything you do in your room.
I'll answer the second one. Scales. Learn em. Either by ear or off of a website. Learn them inside and out, with roots on all the low strings and high strings. A good scale to start with is the minor pentatonic, probably the most famous scale in rock music. Learn it and start with a slower rock song and just feel it. You're not gonna get it playing the song once, but play it again and again. As you get better with the scales, you'll start to write your own solos to it and be much better with them.
Quote by Mekchrious