So I've been working at the same place under the same boss for 2 years now, and I am just starting my 3rd year.

I stopped working there for a while, and recently got re-hired, and I'm now working every day of the week (except sunday), at night.

However, I am in high school, and want to go to college in the field of engineering (ie I need good grades). Ever since I've gotten this job, I have absolutely no time for homework/studying, and my GPA has spiraled downward. I also have no free time to go out with friends, and it would be impossible to have a social life with these hours, along with school.

I really cannot work this job, but I know that my employer needs me to work. I have already established with myself that schoolwork comes before work, and I just can't do the job.

I want some advice on how to approach my boss, and tell him that I want to quit. He is a good family friend, and is getting married on Sunday. I want to quit my job without creating "bad blood" between us, and I don't want to make it hard on him.

Should I just tell him straight up that I want out, should I explain to him about why I can't work for him anymore, or should I follow a different approach?
Find your own replacement first. Then you can be like "I'm going now, but here's an 18-year old cheerleader to take my place"

Obviously he'll be sad to see you go but... oh they've gone.
You: Hi can I have a word with you boss?
Boss: Sure what's up?
You: Well, I'm kind of getting more schoolwork than I used to. So I was wondering if you'd mind giving me a reduction of hours because I don't really want to finish or if you'd mind giving me a bit more flexibility within my contract?
(If he says yes. Negotiate hours)
(If he says no. Say: I'm very sorry then but this will have to be my 2/4weeks notice. Thank you etc etc)
My Gear:

Washburn 6 String Bantam Series

Fender Mexican P-Bass

Farida Stratocaster

Peavey TNT115S