I've been playing for about 2 years, mostly electric. My Current gear is listed in my Sig, and for xmas this year I'm thinking about getting a new guitar. I play mostly metal, but I like to be able to play anything if the occassion calls for it. My price range is about $300-$500, possibly up to $600. I definitely don't want another Ibanez, good guitars though they may be, and would prefer a non-strat shape.

Any suggestions?

(I realize this is pretty broad)
Needs a new sig

Scandanavian Metal > American Thrash/Groove> Everything Else

Gear:
Jackson JS32T Kelly
Ibanez RG120
RavenRG60
Boss Metal Zone
perhaps the new schecter 7 or 8 strings. not sure about the price though can't be more than 5 or 6. i'd consider the 8 string especially since its tuned all the way to F# B E a d g b e
TS- its incredibly broad, but here are some options-

The LTD EX, the Jackson RR3, KV3 and the Kelly.
http://www.youtube.com/user/RichManofAction

200,000 views and counting!

Quote by Perp8tualMotion
This man gets the big golden popcorn trophy which signifies an exceptionally accurate response.

Gear: Jackson SL2H, DX10DFS, Ibanez Prestige RG, Marshall JCM 2000 DSL
What type of bridge?
What type of neck joint construction?
What pickup layout?
Active or passive pickups?
What woods used?
Anything else the guitar needs to have/do/be?
id go for a epiphone sg, no idea where you are, but that would fall in the range of your budget, that is if your budget was in nz dollars. hahahaha.
Quote by azn_guitarist25
What type of bridge?
What type of neck joint construction?
What pickup layout?
Active or passive pickups?
What woods used?
Anything else the guitar needs to have/do/be?

Personally I'd perfer hardtail but I don't really care.
Bolt on
Gotta have two humbuckers, at least
Active
Alder, mahogany, or something similar for the body, rosewood or ebony for the fingerboard
Nothing really. Versatility and good metal tone are the main things I'm looking for

Quote by Richmanofaction