Ok I have dropped my teacher because i felt that I wasn't getting much from him and I he didn't sound like where i wanted to go. I as I mentioned on an other post I self taught myself chords, barre chords, open chords and now i am in the scale stage. He said my strumming technique was bad and I am not good at alternate picking. But are bad habits really that bad? I mean i learned to play Sega Genesis w/ the control upside down and I can play with the best of the right side control players. What about Hendrix, Arctic Monkeys and others who taught themselves? I'm sure all their techniques weren't perfect. So i ask are some of the bad habits we get from self teaching really that detrimental?
Yes. Bad habits lead can lead to unnecessary tension that a couple hours of correct practice could eliminate entirely. If you strum poorly and cannot alternate pick well, then my recommendation is to practice these and smooth out your playing. The one habit that is worst of all is anchoring. That's where your finger(s) (often the pinkie and/or the ring finger(s)) are touching the body of the guitar at all times. If you do this, practice playing without anchoring until that become habitual. There's a reason we call bad habits "bad" - they are a real detriment to playing.
Quote by The_Lonely_Soul
Ok I have dropped my teacher because i felt that I wasn't getting much from him and I he didn't sound like where i wanted to go. I as I mentioned on an other post I self taught myself chords, barre chords, open chords and now i am in the scale stage. He said my strumming technique was bad and I am not good at alternate picking. But are bad habits really that bad? I mean i learned to play Sega Genesis w/ the control upside down and I can play with the best of the right side control players. What about Hendrix, Arctic Monkeys and others who taught themselves? I'm sure all their techniques weren't perfect. So i ask are some of the bad habits we get from self teaching really that detrimental?