alright

i have this ''situation''...

ive been playing guitar for about 4 years now (havnt written song before) ... i know theory aswell

im writing a metal song ( think Trivium/ATR/B4MV/KSE) yes thats right Metal ... not -Core
so heres my problem ... im trying to write songs in that genre and i come out writing some hardcore stuff ( Parkway drive) ect....

how do i go about writing like those bands

before you all jump in and ambush me... i know your gonna come out saying '' write your own genre'' theres soo many genres you cant end up sounding like someone... and id rather it be Trivium than these ''Core'' bands

i dont want this thred becoming a metal Vs -core thred and dont tell me '' you deekheadd all those bands you posted are all core bands thanks

thanks
Quote by rgrockr
You can buy whatever guitar you want, you don't have to be at a certain skill level to buy one. This is real life, not some guitar-playing RPG where you have to unlock new guitars.
Last edited by kakos at Nov 22, 2009,
You can try analyzing the theory behind Trivium's music and look for recurring elements.
Well, start learning songs by those bands. Start with your favorites, your absolute top 3 favorite from each band, and when you get done, not only will you be technically assured, but you'll have the FEEL of how those bands write, play, and construct their songs. That's the best advice I can give.
I would say only listen to those band for awhile nothing else get a feel for their styles etc.
You can start by looking at tabs or whatnot from those bands and, knowing some theory, figure out why they sound they way they do. You can figure out what chords and scales being used and then experiment with them when writing your own song.
Your opinion is just that, YOUR opinion. It doesn't make you right. It doesn't make you better. It doesn't make you god. Everyone has their own view and that view is neither right or wrong.

Ignorance destroys music.